Re-post Theatre: Why I am not an atheist

This is a re-post of “Why I am not an atheist“, originally posted in July 2008 here and at Dangerous Intersection in September, where it kicked off a comment storm which was greatly enjoyed by all. I present it as something of an atheist FAQ – it might not be all-encompassing but it’s a good place to start when discussing non-belief, particularly my own but perhaps many others as well.

Without further wossname: Why I am not an atheist …var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”); document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));

… and why I am.

I am not an atheist because:

  • I hate God
  • I prayed to God and my prayers weren’t answered
  • Militant/fundamentalist atheists converted me away from God
  • I worship science and the works of man instead of God
  • I’m rebelling against God like I rebelled against my parents & teachers in high school
  • I think I’m better than God
  • I had a bad experience with a priest or church or religious person
  • I can’t decide which religion to subscribe to
  • atheism is my religion
  • I think religious people are idiots
  • I worship Batman
  • I worship Satan
  • I’m immoral/amoral and would rather do what I want
  • I want to destroy religion

Read on, MacDuff …

Leave a Reply

