How nerdy are you?


You Are 56% Nerdy


You may be a bit surprised with this score, but your more of a closet nerd than an actual nerd.

Stop denying your inner nerd! You’re truly dorkier than you think.

I feel somewhat disenfranchised by this quiz – it’s clearly geared toward nerds of a more mathematical/computery bent, what with its questions about calculus, coding, Linux, MENSA and so forth. Sure, I love scifi and I have a blog and a nice collection of graphic novels (mostly Batman) and gosh, do I love prog-rock (The Mars Volta for the ultimate in winning technology) but numbers are not my friends. Mathematics is a tool I use when necessary, like once a year for my tax return. Maths is my ute, not my sports car. MENSA is for really, really smart people who are good at stuff and not people like me, of above-average intelligence but no idea how to apply it constructively due to ADD and several brain injuries that make my EEGs look like fritzed circuit boards. People with an insanely retentive mind for trivia and a deep, abiding love for ninjas and robots and old Arnie films. Speaking of ninjas – there was not ONE ninja-related question on that quiz! Not ONE to do with gaming (apart from “do you own an old console?” Pfft!). Not that I’d give WoW or any MMORPG the time of day, but I worship Kratos, Kongregate, GTA, Max Payne, Splinter Cell, Metal Gear, Grand Prix Legends, Burnout, Ratchet & Clank – if you can kill silently, wreak havoc or go fast or do all of them at once, I’m there. And where are the questions about RL RPGs (almost a universal acid test)? I spent hours in the school library playing AD&D Oriental Adventures, wielding a magical naginata – not to mention epic games of Warhammer (regular and 40K), taking up entire backyards, with massive armies of miniatures my friends and I slaved over for hours at our painting desks. Magic: The Gathering? No mention (I have played precisely one game). No mention of lining up for hours or days to buy a new console (I happen to think those people are retarded, but I once queued up for 45 minutes amongst people dressed like Boba Fett and Jedis to see a midnight screening of the Star Wars Episode IV Special Edition in 1997 – that was when I first became suspicious of George Lucas, a suspicion which has been borne out by his recent “work” on the franchise). They ask about comics (duh) but how can it be a true nerd quiz without asking about your toy/model/memorabilia/collectible collection? Have they seen the stamps I rip from the envelopes at work? My 1960s die-cast F1 collection? My full set of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons Of Liberty action figures? My Japan-only die-cast BTTF DeLorean and KITT? My Evangelion & Gundam models (not one question about anime!! WTF!?)? There weren’t even any questions to do with grammar (see the misused “your” in the first sentence of the results box above! Clearly they need my assistance) or spelling. Why is it that nerds always get lumped into the maths/computer/genius category? Some of us are English nerds and are goddam proud of it!

Hell, I think the fact that I’m objecting strenuously to the methodology of this quiz, its criminal brevity and its glaring lack of depth makes it pretty obvious I’m more than 56% nerdy. If someone wants to find out how nerdy a person is, they should attempt to cover a few more bases.

Fifty-six percent?! I demand the researchers do some research into what makes a nerd and re-tool their quiz. I demand a recount!

Leave a Reply

