Support PZ Myers – the Catholics have gone crackers

Yeah, ok , sorry for the pun. Sue me.

Anyway, it seems Bill Donohue, head of the US Catholic League and all-round strident busybody, is orchestrating a smear campaign against PZ Myers for his post about a student who took a communion wafer from a church (my response here). Apparently it’s the sin of sins to steal a Eucharist (which is believed to “transubstantiate” into the actual, literal flesh of Jesus when consumed. Bugger me, that’s a ghoulish concept- as if it’s not creepy enough worshipping a zombie, you have to eat him too? Frackin’ weird-arse cult, that one) and some Catholics (just for something different) got up on their soapboxes and started calling for blood. When PZ smacked them down they started calling for his blood too, as well as his job and one writer actually threated him with death (hope the FBI checks up on that one). Well, now he’s asking for letters of support to be sent to the president of his university. I was happy to oblige and here’s what I sent:

Dear Mr Bruininks

This email is in support of PZ Myers, whose recent Pharyngula post ridiculing some strident over-reactions to a student leaving a church with a communion wafer has attracted a large amount of hate-mail. Some call for his dismissal while others, more troublingly, are calling for his head. It also appears the Catholic League’s Bill
Donohue has started some sort of witch-hunt against Prof Myers, but as I’m sure you’re familiar with the situation I won’t go into detail.

I don’t think for a second that PZ is (or should be) in danger of being dismissed, censured or disciplined in any way, but because Mr Donohue seems intent on seeing him crucified for exercising his First Amendment right to free speech and is fomenting some sort of PR campaign against him, I felt it was only right that I formally voiced my support for PZ on this occasion. The US seems to be a hotbed for Christian extremism, more so now than ever before, and even though I’m an Australian citizen I won’t stand by and watch someone I respect be dragged through the mud by hysterical fanatics without expressing solidarity with him. It may only be a symbolic gesture but I hope it adds to some kind of critical mass of support to
counter Donohue’s smear campaign.

Kind Regards
etc.

So, head on over to Pharyngula and express your solidarity through the magic of binary code! I may not be a Yank but this shit really gets to me and always has, so why not give moral support to a guy whose blog gives me great entertainment, pretty much daily?

Leave a Reply

